History Of Liberia

Map of AfricaBrief History of Liberia.

Independent Day of the Republic of Liberia: July 26 1847.

Liberia was founded by free African-Americans slaves from the United States in 1820. An initial group of 86 immigrants, who came to be called Americo-Liberians, established a settlement in Christopolis now call Monrovia, named after U.S. President James Monroe on 6 February 1820.

Between 1821 and 1867 the American Colonization Society resettled over 10,000 free slaves. They control the Commonwealth of Liberia until independence in 1847.

Politically, the country was a one-party state ruled by the True Whig Party TWP. An American citizen Joseph Jenkins Roberts, born and raised in America became Liberia’s first President.

The American every thing in the country, holding onto the country vast natural resources and restricted the voting rights of the indigenous population until 1980 when the true sons of the land led by Master Sergeant Samuel Kanyon Doe ends Americo-Liberian domination by a military coup.

Doe’s forces executed President William R. Tolbert and several officials of his government, mostly of Americo-Liberian descent. One hundred and thirty-three years of Americo-Liberian political domination ended with the formation of the People’s Redemption Council (PRC).

Important Dates in Liberia’s History.

Map of Liberia1903- The British and Liberian governments came to an agreement about the borders between Sierra Leone and Liberia.

1904- The Liberian government instituted an administrative system that brought indigenous peoples into an indirect political relationship with the central government through their own paid officials.

1919- Liberia was one of the nations to sign the League of Nations covenant after World War I.

1929- An International Commission investigated charges of slavery and forced labor in Liberia. A year later, the committee could not substantiate such charges according to international law. They did find, however, that Liberian officials, including the republic’s vice president, profited from indigenous people’s forced labor.

1944- William V. S. Tubman was elected to the first of seven terms as Liberian president.

1946- The right to vote and participate in elections was extended to Liberia’s indigenous peoples.

1958- Liberian representatives attended the first conference of independent African nations.

1967- Liberian officials served on the Organization of African Unity’s Consultation Committee on Nigeria’s civil war.

1971- President Tubman died in office.

1972- William R. Tolbert, Jr. was elected to Liberia’s presidency after finishing Tubman’s unexpired term.

1979- On April 14, a rally protesting the increase of rice prices ended in riot.

1980- A military coup led by Samuel Kanyon Doe that brought an ends to the Americo-Liberian domination.

1985- Civilian rule was restored.

1986- A new constitution established the second republic of Liberia by President Samuel Kanyon Doe.

1989- Charles Taylor, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, an Americo-Liberian, and their followers toppled the government of President Samuel Kanyon Doe and led the country into a bloody civil war.

1995- The 16-member Economic Community of West African States ECOWAS brokered a peace treaty between Liberia’s warring factions. An interim State Council established.

1997- Charles Taylor was elected president of the republic of Liberia. During his regime corruption and crime was at it highest in Liberia history. He was then toppled by another rebellion and is now serving a 50 years jail term in the Hague, Netherlands.

Custom Search